Prehealth

Advising - A Supportive Community

Know that help is available to you. Consult your academic advisors and get to know your professors. PreHealth advising is available  for all Washington University students from the moment you come to campus through the College of Arts & Sciences or the School of Engineering’s Pre-Med Committee.

Contact information for PreHealth advisors is listed below, or you can send an email to prehealth@wustl.edu.

FAQs - The Virtual Advisor - Answers to the Most Commonly Asked Pre-Med Questions.

For questions about the PreHealth program, please contact Liz Heidger, PreHealth Coordinator, (314) 935-6897 or at the email address above. More information can also be found in the PreHealth Handbook.

Pre-Health Advising Contact Information

Specialty Advising Categories

Dentisty - Dean Warren Davis
MD/PhD - Kristin Sobotka
Nursing - Dean Matt DeVoll
Pharmacy - Dean Carolyn Herman
Physical Therapy - Clarissa Smith
Physicial Assistant - Dean Joy Kiefer
Occupational Therapy - Dr. Kathy Kniepmann
Optometry - Dean Wilmetta Toliver-Diallo
Veterinary Medicine - Dean Jennifer Romney

Shawn Cummings - University College
PreHealth Advisor, Post Baccalaureate Premedical Program
(314) 935-6783
cummingss@wustl.edu
Office: January 30
By appointment: please call (314) 935-6700

Warren Davis - PreDental Advisor
(314) 935-6806
wjdavis@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Mondays 2:30 - 5:00
Office:  Cupples II, Suite 104

Matt Devoll - PreNursing Advisor
(314) 935-5392
mwdevoll@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Wednesdays Noon - 2:30
Office Cupples II, Suite 104

Joan Downey, M.D.
(314) 935-6806
downey@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Thursdays 10 - 11:30
Office: Cornerstone
Schedule an appointment with Dean Downey online, password: prehealth

Elizabeth Fogt - University College
Director, Post Baccalaureate Premedical Program

(314) 935-6778
efogt@wustl.edu
Office: January 30
By appointment: please call (314) 935-6759


Maya Ganapathy
(314) 935-4936
mdganapa@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Wednesdays 2:30 -5:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104


Michael Getty
(314)935-6192
mgetty@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Tuesdays Noon - 2:30
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104
Schedule an appointment with Dean Getty online, password: coffee


Carolyn Herman, Director, PreHealth Program - PrePharmacy Advisor
(314) 935-8076
cherman@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Thursdays 1:00 - 5:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104
Schedule an appointment with Dean Herman online, password: prehealth


Brittni Jones
(314) 935-4940
jones.brittni.d@wustl.edu
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104


Joy Kiefer - PrePhysician Assistant Advisor
(314) 935-8136
jkiefer@artsci.wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Fridays 2:30 - 5:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104


Kathy Kniepman - PreOT Advisor
(314) 286-1610
kniepmannk@wusm.wustl.edu
Washington University School of Medicine
Program  in Occupational Therapy

4444 Forest Park


Ron Laue - Engineering School
Engineering Health Professions Advisor
(314) 935-6178
ron.laue@wustl.edu
Office: Lopata Hall, Rm 303


Grizelda McClelland

(314) 935-4937
g.mcclelland@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Tuesdays 9:00 - 12:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104
 

Michaele Penkoske, M.D.
Career Consultant Career Center

(314) 935-5930
mpenkoske@wustl.edu
Office: Danforth University Center 1091
By appointment, Wednesday and Thursday 9:00 - 5:00 in the Career Center


Patricia Penkoske, MD
Career Consultant Career Center
(314) 935-5930
ppenkoske9876@wustl.edu
Office: Danforth University Center 1091
 

Jennifer Romney - PreVet Advisor
(314) 935-7969
jlromney@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Tuesdays 2:30 - 5:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104


April Shinell, MSW
Assistant Director, Career Development Career Center
(314)935-8239
ashinell@wustl.edu
Office: Danforth University Center 110


Clarissa Smith, PrePT Advisor
Career Consultant Career Center

(314) 935-5930
csmith45@wustl.edu
Office: Danforth University Center 110
 

Kristin Sobotka - PreMD/PhD Advisor
(314) 935-7494
ksobotka@artsci.wustl.edu
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104
Schedule an appointment with Kristin Sobotka online Password: research
 

Wilmetta Toliver-Diallo - PreOptometry Advisor
(314) 935-7879
toliver-diallo@wustl.edu
Walk-in hours: Fridays 9:00 - 11:00
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104
Schedule an appointment with Wilmetta Toliver-Diallo online


John Wingfield

(314) 935-9348
jwingfield@wustl.edu
Office: Cupples II, Suite 104

Cornerstone

Harvey Fields, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Academic Programs
(314) 935-5965
hrfields@wustl.edu
Office: Cornerstone
 

Susan Lowther
Writing Programs & MCAT Coordinator, Cornerstone
(314) 935-8099
selowthe@wustl.edu
Office: Cornerstone

The Writing Center
 

Robert Patterson, Ph.D.
(314) 935-9817
rhpatter@wustl.edu
Office: Olin Library

styles are turned off